Unifor ACL Bulletin – April 6, 2020
April 6, 2020
Message from Local 506 Women’s Advocate
April 24, 2020

April 16th, 2020

Hello members of Unifor Local 506,

The spread of COVID-19 has everyone living in a time of uncertainty.   Your Executive has been meeting weekly via conference call to discuss ongoing changes at the Union’s National level, the Company level and at various levels of the government.  During our last meeting it was decided that a Local 506 Bulletin should be sent out to the membership to keep them informed of continuing changes and updates. 

However, a bulletin is only as good as its content and, due to the restrictions being placed on large gatherings and the need to maintain social distancing, we have lost the use of the forum where the members’ questions and concerns are most commonly brought forward: the sub-local union meeting.

In an effort to remedy that loss, we want this to become a two-way bulletin.  We ask that all members keep in touch with their local Stewardship and Regional chairs with any questions or concerns they would like addressed at these weekly meetings.  We will do our best to find the answers you are looking for and address those concerns as best as we can within the current environment.

We want everyone to know that we are still here to support our members in any way we can and hope we can continue to help you keep yourselves, and your families, healthy and safe.  We would also especially like to thank all the technicians in customer-facing roles.  We understand the extra stresses that you are under and we appreciate your continued efforts to support our customers in as safe a manner as possible.

And, finally, we would like to remind members that the Women’s Advocate, Erin Howell-Sharpe, is always available to provide personal, confidential support to members in need.

Please send any questions, issues or concerns to unionoffice@unifor506.ca

In Solidarity,

Unifor Local 506 Executive

Sandy Brideau

Chuck Rouse

Carlos Vicente

Tammy Lewis

Leesa Allain

Adam Costain

Alain Ouellette

Stéphane Lamoureux